*Author

Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« on: June 28, 2010, 08:05:52 pm »
Hi,
this card is the first Cultist with ability costs from a different element as the play costs. The ability is something like a Gravity Pull for spells and abilities.

As some people tend to ignore the Notes:
Details to the ability:
1) You can only target your own creatures with Scapegoat. But abilities and spells from both players target the 'Scapegoat'.
2) The targeting screen won't change! The target will change after you choosed your target.
3) Only one 'Scapegoat' at the same time.
4) The 'Scapegoat' status will removed when the creature becomes immortal through Quint or the Immortality ability.
5) Every spell or ability will target the 'Scapegoat'. When the creature can't be affected, the ability or spell will fail. Example: You use 'Scapegoat' on a Angel with 6HP. An Oty with 3HP uses Devour. The Devour target the Angel and fails.
6) The targeting of spells like RoF will change as long as the creature is alive. Example: The Scapegoat has 28HP, then the RoF will hit the Scapegoat instead of the first 10 creatures in the targeting order (should be the same as the attack order).

Discuss

NAME:
Agitating Cultist
ELEMENT:
Entropy
COST:
6 :entropy
TYPE:
Creature
ATK|HP:
2 | 1
ABILITY:
:darkness :darkness :darkness Scapegoat: The target creature gains 'Scapegoat'. Every spell or ability tries to target the creature.
NAME:
Agitating Priest
ELEMENT:
Entropy
COST:
6 :entropy
TYPE:
Creature
ATK|HP:
3 | 1
ABILITY:
:darkness :darkness Scapegoat: The target creature gains 'Scapegoat'. Every spell or ability tries to target the creature.
ART:
James Wolf (http://jade.epilogue.net/cgi/database/art/view.pl?id=105147)
IDEA:
Schattenfresser
NOTES:
* the wording could be better
Details to the ability:
1) You can only target your own creatures with Scapegoat. But abilities and spells from both players target the 'Scapegoat'.
2) The targeting screen won't change! The target will change after you choosed your target.
3) Only one 'Scapegoat' at the same time.
4) The 'Scapegoat' status will removed when the creature becomes immortal through Quint or the Immortality ability.
5) Every spell or ability will target the 'Scapegoat'. When the creature can't be affected, the ability or spell will fail. Example: You use 'Scapegoat' on a Angel with 6HP. An Oty with 3HP uses Devour. The Devour target the Angel and fails.
6) The targeting of spells like RoF will change as long as the creature is alive. Example: The Scapegoat has 28HP, then the RoF will hit the Scapegoat instead of the first 10 creatures in the targeting order (should be the same as the attack order).

SERIES:
the Cult-series (http://elementscommunity.org/forum/index.php/topic,7121.0.html)

PuppyChow

  • Guest
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 08:08:23 pm »
Only usable on your own creatures?

Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 08:12:00 pm »
Only usable on your own creatures?
No, you can use it against your opponents creatures, too.  ;)
And the spells and abilities of both players will target the creature with 'Scapegoat'.

PuppyChow

  • Guest
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 08:15:49 pm »
Then in that case it's OP.

I mean, using it on an opponent's creature would basically mean your opponent has to kill his own creature before he can continue targeting yours.

Gravity pull isn't OP because when you use it on your opponent, only your creatures attack the opposing creature. This card, however, would be the equivalent of both your creatures and your opponent's creatures attacking the opposing creature.

Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 08:54:58 pm »
Ok, I thought it would be enough when you had to target the creature, too.
But I can change it so that you only can target your own creatures.

The problem is that it would weaken the protection against Devour (you could only target a poisonous creature). That's why I think about to change a mechanic that the abilities and spells will target the creatures and that they can fail when the target is immune. Quint or the Quint-Ability would remove the ability from the monster so that you wouldn't gain a perfect protection.

Offline GG

  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2253
  • Reputation Power: 28
  • GG is a proud Wyrm taking wing for the first time.GG is a proud Wyrm taking wing for the first time.GG is a proud Wyrm taking wing for the first time.GG is a proud Wyrm taking wing for the first time.GG is a proud Wyrm taking wing for the first time.
  • Retired from everything...
  • Awards: Slice of Elements 5th Birthday Cake3rd Trials - Master of Gravity2nd Trials - Master of GravityC-C-C-Combo Maker Winner!Weekly Tournament WinnerChampionship League 1/2011 WinnerWeekly Tournament WinnerWeekly Tournament WinnerChampionship League 3/2010 2nd PlaceNew Passive Ability Competition Winner
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 10:57:33 pm »
i'd like to see connection between other two elements rather than the preexisting one.

entropy-darkness already exists (lycan).

gravity seems like the best choice imo.
Ex-Master of :gravity, still a fervid supporter! GO GRAVY!

Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2010, 01:22:15 am »
I changed the description as it says more about the balancing as the description of the card. :)

@Girlsgeneration: Yes, Entropy and Darkness have an existing synergy with Lykanthropy. But that's why I choose this 2 elements as I wanted to improve this bond.
As I said, Gravity would be possible too, as it has a similar card with Gravity Pull. But it doesn't fit the theme as good as Darkness does. That's why I stick with Darkness for now, hoping that people like the Darkness costs more then Gravity.  ;)

Kael Hate

  • Guest
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2010, 02:10:42 pm »
Rain of Fire targets every oposing creature. That means the scapegoat soaks up all the damage of Rain of Fire?

I think you should change is slightly, so that while a scapegoat is on the table only scapegoats can be selected (with the reticle) as targets. This could also then handle the situation when a Scapegoat gets Cloned with PU. Suggest the ability use a Status marker like a little reticle on the bottom the card. Alternately it could be like Gravity pull and choosing another scapegoat releases the first.

Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2010, 03:14:37 pm »
Rain of Fire targets every oposing creature. That means the scapegoat soaks up all the damage of Rain of Fire?

I think you should change is slightly, so that while a scapegoat is on the table only scapegoats can be selected (with the reticle) as targets. This could also then handle the situation when a Scapegoat gets Cloned with PU. Suggest the ability use a Status marker like a little reticle on the bottom the card. Alternately it could be like Gravity pull and choosing another scapegoat releases the first.
RoF doesn't damage every creature at the same time that's why I think that it should be possible that it doesn't target every card at the same time. When it would be to difficult to code, then I can remove it.

I wrote in point 3) that only 1 Scapegoat can exist at the same time and this rule consider both sides of the creature as one. So it would works like Gravity Pull.
But I should add that the target of the ability 'Scapegoat' won't be changed by the Scapegoat effect.

JJ 52

  • Guest
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2010, 02:32:49 am »
I like this idea
Rain of Fire targets every oposing creature. That means the scapegoat soaks up all the damage of Rain of Fire?

I think you should change is slightly, so that while a scapegoat is on the table only scapegoats can be selected (with the reticle) as targets. This could also then handle the situation when a Scapegoat gets Cloned with PU. Suggest the ability use a Status marker like a little reticle on the bottom the card. Alternately it could be like Gravity pull and choosing another scapegoat releases the first.
I like the original idea of everything still being targetable as normal, this way if the other player isnt paying attention all they will waste their quantum. like if you try to use devour, but nothing is devourable, when you cancel you still lose the 1  :gravity

I like the idea you said of the status marker, other wise you wouldnt know if there is a scapegoat or not.

Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2010, 09:04:24 am »
About the status marker: I didn't even thought about writting an additional sentence about a marker as I thought that gaining this marker would be obvious.  ;)
So the ability will create a status marker just like Gravity Pull does.

Weiyaoli

  • Guest
Re: Agitating Cultist | Agitating Priest (Semi-Permalink)
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2010, 03:12:24 pm »
I'm pretty sure you mean Angel not Angle in your first post.

 

anything
blarg: